Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Launched: July 18, 2014


Summary

The UC Data Curation (DC) Common Knowledge Group (CKG) is a group of experts and pioneers in the area of curation of scholarly, educational, and research data including both physical and born digital, open and restricted. The DC CKG supports the work of researchers and the Libraries throughout data lifecycle, from creation to access and re-use. The DC CKG communicates with and provides support to the UCL Advisory Structure, but is not a decision-making body. To foster innovation in digital services related to supporting research and scholarship using data, the DC CKG openly communicates, meets regularly, and encourages broad participation from all levels of staff who are responsible for or involved in this area. 

See more detail in the UC Data Curation CKG Charter.

Communication

Listserv (for regular communication): DCCKG-L@LISTSERV.UCOP.EDU (for archived content, access http://listserv.ucop.edu/cgi-bin/wa.exe?A0=DCCKG-L)

Zoom (for virtual meetings): (408) 638-0968 (toll) or (646) 558-8656 (toll), access code: 791 623 164

Monthly meetings: last Wednesday of each month 11am - 12pm (with variations when necessary)

In-person meetings: at common conferences, see our Google calendar; another informational source - https://datacure.uoregon.edu

Collaborative spacehttps://drive.google.com/a/uci.edu/folderview?id=0B-ECx5ymmAGpckZvLWx4NThvR28&usp=sharing_eil&invite=COOdlLwG#

Membership

CampusNamePositionContact
BerkeleyChris HoffmanManager, Informatics Services

chris_h@berkeley.edu

 Harrison DekkerHead, Library Data Labhdekker@berkeley.edu
 Kendra LevineResearch, Data, and Web Services Librariankklevine@berkeley.edu
 Lisa Rowlison de OrtizHead, Catalog & Metadata Serviceslrowliso@library.berkeley.edu
 Lynne GrigsbyHead, Library Applications and Publishinglgrigsby@library.berkeley.edu
CDLJoan StarrEZID Service Managerjoan.starr@ucop.edu
 Perry WillettDigital Preservation Services Managerperry.willett@ucop.edu
 

Stephanie Simms

Research Data Specialiststephanie.simms@ucop.edu
 John ChodackiDirector, UC3

John.Chodacki@ucop.edu

 

John Borghi

CLIR Post-docjohn.borghi@ucop.edu
DavisJonathan M. CachatPostdoc Fellowjcachat@ucdavis.edu
 Vessela Y. EnsbergAssociate Director, Data Management Program

vensberg@ucdavis.edu

IrvineDana PetermanHead, Collection Developmentdpeterma@uci.edu
 Emilee MatthewsResearch Librarian for Visual Artsemilee.mathews@uci.edu
 Matthew McKinleyDigital Project Specialistmjmckinl@uci.edu
 Shu LiuMetadata and Digital Resources Librarianshu.liu@uci.edu
 Laura SmartHead, E-Research & Digital Scholarship

lsmart@uci.edu

Los AngelesBethany MyersResearch Informationistbethanymyers@library.ucla.edu
 Tony AponteScience and Engineering Librariantjaponte@library.ucla.edu
MercedEmily LinHead, Digital Assetselin@ucmerced.edu
 Jerrold ShiromaDigital Assets Librarianjshiroma@ucmerced.edu
RiversideKatherine KoziarReference & Instruction Librariankatherine.koziar@ucr.edu
 Michele PotterEngineering Librarianmichele.potter@ucr.edu
San DiegoBethany HarrisBiology Librarian

beharris@ucsd.edu

 Cristela Garcia-SpitzDigital Library Development Project Managercgarciaspitz@ucsd.edu
 Ho Jung YooTechnical Analysthjsyoo@ucsd.edu
 Juliane SchneiderResearch Data Strategistj6schneider@ucsd.edu
 Mary Linn BergstromLiaison Librarian Bioinformatics, Human Development, Research Data Curationmlbergstrom@ucsd.edu
 Reid Otsuji (Past Chair)Data Curation Specialist Librarianrotsuji@ucsd.edu
 Ryan JohnsonMetadata Specialistrejohnson@ucsd.edu
 Tim DennisData Services Librarian

timdennis@ucsd.edu

San Francisco

Polina Ilieva

Head, Archives and Special CollectionsPolina.Ilieva@ucsf.edu
 Ariel DeardorffData Librarian

ariel.deardorff@ucsf.edu

 Jill Barr-WalkerClinical Librarian

jill.barr-walker@ucsf.edu

Santa BarbaraTom Brittnacher (Chair)Geospatial Data Curatortombritt@ucsb.edu
 Jon JablonskiSpatial Data Librarianjonjab@ucsb.edu
 Thomas PadillaHumanities Data Curator

thomaspadilla@ucsb.edu 

Santa CruzAnn Hubble (Co-Vice-Chair)
Digital Services Librarianahubble@ucsc.edu
 Christy Caldwell (Co-Vice-Chair)Science & Engineering Librariancaldwell@ucsc.edu
 Christy Hightower (Co-Vice-Chair)Science & Engineering Librarianchristyh@ucsc.edu
 Rachel JaffeMetadata Librarian

jaffer@ucsc.edu

 Lucia OrlandoGovernment Information Librarianluciao@ucsc.edu

Metadata Subgroup

The metadata subgroup is a group of experts across UC campuses who may respond to or solve metadata issues within data curation, such as data description or documentation, data citation, and data discovery. Members:

  • Harrison Dekker
  • Joan Starr
  • Juliane Schneider
  • Rachel Jaffe
  • Ryan Johnson
  • Shu Liu
  • Tom Brittnacher

Projects

Data Curation Awareness Videos: original, final

Released pilot video:


Science Boot Camp West 2016

 

  • No labels